Caitlyn Jenner: Hero or Not? From the open mind of a Christian

All over the media it is buzzing about the official sex change of Bruce Jenner to Caitlyn Jenner. Whether you agree with it or not, everyone is talking about or at least seeing it. I figured why not put my two cents in as I have watched everyone else.

Two things before I start, I do support the LGBT community. Several near and dear people to my heart are a part of that group. It’s 2015, the acceptance of this community is only growing and I am a very loving person and I only intend to spread that love with others even if they are “different” from what is considered or expected of our social norms. The transgender community I do not personally have much knowledge on the process, or know anyone personally, but I won’t judge someone if that is something they choose for their life.

Second thing, I am a Christian. I am a devoted follower of Christ. I truly believe he is our creator, and I aim to live a life walked only to live as He intended for me. I truly believe and have proclaimed Jesus as my savior, and I am here openly telling you that I love Jesus, and I do accept the LGBT community. Judge as you want but I do not have a problem publicly saying that.

Now, Caitlyn Jenner…the hot topic EVERYWHERE. I even saw on twitter that ESPN had talked about it. Well, I didn’t quite know if I wanted to participate in this hot topic simply because it really makes my blood boil the way media has brainwashed majority of people to actually care more about someone having a sex change over actual world issues, but as a Christian, I felt I had to express my opinion after seeing several, in particular one women, go viral for their judgmental and unloving words to Caitlyn and her life choices.

As Christians, we are no one to judge. Being a believer of Christ does NOT give a single person the right to judge. Do we not constantly preach how God is the ultimate judge? SO, why is it there are so many Christians all over the place throwing around the judgement?

1 Peter 4:8 says, “Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins.”

We are to love one another. Is it not in the ten commandments to love thy neighbor? Did Jesus ONLY die on the cross for a Christians sins? Because, if you are a true believer you believe Jesus died on the cross for all people and all the sin in the world. That includes me, you, the pope, a prostitute, the drug dealer on the corner, the two year old boy, and Caitlyn Jenner. So we must just love on each other. You are so so welcome to your opinion, and if the word is what is leading you to not agree with his life choice, thats OKAY, but do not shun her and speak such evil words that you are doing nothing but spreading hate. God did not intend that. God wants us to be the disciples of the world and share His love. That includes reminding Caitlyn that Jesus is still going to love her. Yes, the bible says several things and points out very specific sins that it makes it easy for certain Christians to use against non-believers and their life choices.

Now that we are on that thought, stop and ask yourself, you are using what the scriptures say to condemn others choices, non-believers…right? A non-believer does NOT live by the word, so how can you hold them accountable to it when they don’t believe in it? You just can’t. Your place in that is to simply reflect Gods love to others and spread the word. Not play God and judge.

Another thing I have seen said a lot is how sinful Caitlyn is being by having a sex change. How disrespectful it is to God in his creation. Funny you want to use sin because we are all sinful by nature. As you stand on your pedestal are you not realizing that as you point fingers at her and claim the word of the Lord you are sinning at the same exact time in being a hateful, judgmental, and bitter person because someone isn’t living in the way you believe they should?

Matthew 7:1-29: “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye…”

I believe that to some people Caitlyn Jenner is a hero. Just like certain people are heroes to me that may not be heroes to others. I think for someone to have to deal with media the way she is does show her strength because media can kill, we’ve seen the power of words. No, she does not compare to men and women who sacrifice for our country. No she does not deserve to be put next to a soldier who lost an arm, eyes, etc, etc, simply because you are comparing an orange with gasoline. They aren’t comparable. I don’t believe that Caitlyn Jenner should be the reason for a movement in transgenderism. I think there’s more to the process and the people who go through it than just another Kardashian/Jenner making headlines.I don’t agree with how much this story blew up, because we’re just giving into exactly the attention that was wanted for this change. There’s more for us to be educated on and I refuse to fall into it simply because of this family making headlines once again for their lifestyle choices. That community I feel like deserves more respect and attention in different aspects. By all means, Caitlyn, DO YOU BOO BOO, I am proud you took a step forward. I have enough trust in Jesus to one day help me understand the shifts in social norms and what people who need those changes to live a more satisfied life feel and need. What I don’t quite have faith in, is our generation constantly falling into media stories that really are irrelevant to other things we should be focused on. Christians losing sight of the actual beauty of the Gospel and what God intended for us as believers in a world filled with so much hate, sadness, bitterness, evil, and unbelievers.

Leave a Reply

